University of Otago

The University of Otago’s Division of Health Sciences is a leading New Zealand provider of undergraduate and postgraduate education and training in health workforce professions and biomedical sciences. It also leads research in the related medical, public health and biomedical sciences. Through its Health Sciences Division, the University of Otago aims to provide New Zealand society and other communities with a highly-qualified workforce in the health professions.

The Division of Health Sciences has its main campus in Dunedin but Christchurch and Wellington are critically important for clinical training, postgraduate training and research.

The Division is committed to the University’s obligations under the Treaty of Waitangi and to developing strategies to attract, recruit and retain Māori staff and students, educate students in Māori health needs and to provide appropriate clinical experience of Māori health care provision. The Division is also committed to Pacific health development and engagement with Pacific communities.

The University of Otago objectives for partnering in Te Papa Hauora Health Precinct are:

  • To further enhance and strengthen the University’s activities and contributions in education and training in health workforce professions and biomedical sciences, research and community service.
  • To support and foster strong and productive collaborative relationships across tertiary institutions and health provider organisations in Canterbury.
  • To make a strong positive contribution to re-building the central area of Christchurch city, adding to the vibrancy and ethos of Te Papa Hauora Health Precinct for the benefit of the wider Canterbury population.

The University of Otago is committed to constructing a new state-of-the-art building to expand its Christchurch campus, making an important contribution to Te Papa Hauora Health Precinct as part of the city’s rebuild. The new building will enable the growth of the Christchurch campus’ world-class health science research and education programmes, and it will provide new opportunities for collaboration with other important partners in Te Papa Hauora Health Precinct.



The Members